The grand Star Screen Awards were first presented in the year 1994. Browse through the article to know more about the Nokia Fourteenth (14th) Annual Star Screen Awards.

  Mail This Page Add to Favorites 

Star Screen Awards 2008

The prestigious Star Screen Awards are initiated by Mr. Viveck Goenka (the chairman of The Express Group) since 1994. The Screen Awards are presented to artists to acknowledge their excellent performance in films. The winners are nominated and selected by a panel of eminent judges from within the film industry itself. This is one of the special features which make the Screen Awards stand apart from other Indian film awards. Star Screen Awards, 2008, were sponsored by Nokia and therefore the event was also known as the Nokia 14th Annual Star Screen Awards. The ceremony was held in Mumbai on 10th January. The hosts for the classy evening were Sajid Khan and Shreyas Talpade. The film ‘Taare Zameen Par’ (directed by Aamir Khan) bagged as many as 6 screen awards for the year. The movie deals with the sensitive topic of a dyslexic boy which not only enlightened but also set the audience thinking. The other winners for the year are listed below.

The Winners For Nokia 14th Annual Star Screen Awards Were:

Star Screen Popular Awards 2008

Best Actor
Shahrukh Khan
Chak De India
Best Actress
Kareena Kapoor
Jab We Met
Best Film
Chak De India
Yash Chopra
Best Director
Shimit Amin & Aamir Khan
Chak De India & Taare Zameen Par resp.
Best Supporting Actor (Male)
Aamir Khan
Taare Zameen Par
Best Supporting Actor (Female)
Chak De Girls
Chak De India
Best Actor in a Comic Role
Irfan Khan
Life in a Metro
Best Actor in a Negative Role
Pankaj Kapoor
The Blue Umbrella
Best Music Direction
Best Lyricist
Prasoon Joshi
Taare Zameen Par
Best Playback Singer (Male)
Soham Chakraborty
Life in a Metro – ‘In Dino’
Best Playback Singer (Female)
Shreya Goshal
Guru – ‘Barso Re’
Most Promising Newcomer (Male)
Ranbir Kapoor
Most Promising Newcomer (Female)
Deepika Padukone
Om Shanti Om
Jodi No. 1
Shahrukh Khan & Deepika Padukone
Om Shanti Om
Best Child Artist
Darsheel Safary
Taare Zameen Par

Star Screen Critics Awards 2008

Best Actor Critics Award
Amitabh Bachchan
Cheeni Kum
Best Actress Critics Award
Cheeni Kum

Star Screen Special Awards 2008

Life Time Achievement Award
Manoj Kumar

Star Screen Technical Awards 2008

Best Choreography
Farah Khan
Om Shanti Om
Best Story
Amole Gupte
Taare Zameen Par
Best Screenplay
Anurag Basu
Life in a Metro
Best Dialogue
Amol Gupte
Taare Zameen Par

Print Mail Recommend This Site