The country’s oldest and prominent National Awards were first handed out in 1954. From 1973, the award ceremonies are administrated by the Indian government’s Directorate of Film Festivals. Each year the government appoints a national panel to select the winning entry. Every year the winners receive the national awards from the President of India in New Delhi. The national awards were presented to the films which were directed across the borders of India. The ‘Best Exploration/Adventure Film’ award is one of the sub-categories of Non-Feature Film and was introduced in the year 1999. The inaugural award was bagged by Vivek Mohan for the film ‘Malana - In Search Of’. Till date no film is found suitable to be honored with the award.

National Award Winners For Best Exploration/Adventure Film Are:

Malana - In Search Of
Vivek Mohan