In the year 1998 Indian Cinema industry witnessed the creation of Zee Cine Awards (or "ZCA" for short). The mega star-studded event was inaugurated in the hub of Indian cinema industry, Mumbai. Zee Cine Awards are initiated by Zee Network Television Limited, a Mumbai-based TV station. Zee Entertainment Enterprises Limited (ZEEL) was previously known as Zee Telefilms Limited (ZTL) which branched out into 4 singular entities in 2006.

Over the years, the events are held with loads of glitz and glamour. The awards are presented for the outstanding performance of the artists in the previous year. Every year the venue and sponsors of the show are altered. Initially it started with Lux, the sponsors list was followed by Fair View Zee Cine Awards (2002-2003), Pan Parag Zee Cine Awards (2004), Sunfeast Zee Cine Awards (2005), LIC Zee Cine Awards (2006), Aditya Birla Group Zee Cine Awards (2007), and Lux Zee Cine Awards (2008). The ceremony is considered the world’s biggest viewers’ choice awards with more than trillion people casting votes for their favorite stars and movies.

Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Director, Best Film and Best Song of the Year are the popular five categories; winners are selected through 100% viewer voting. Another distinctive feature of ZCA is the Australian crafted trophy. The organization has teamed up with City Gold Corporation. Each trophy is made in Australia with 24 carat gold. ZCA have triumphantly completed 10 glorious years of existence.

The ceremony took a further step forward and went international in the year 2004. The first international ceremony was held in Dubai. The following year (i.e. on 26th March 2005) the show was held in London. Zee Networks held the ceremony in Mauritius and Malaysia for the year 2006 and 2007 respectively. On 26th April 2008, Zee Cine Awards again took off to London at Excel Arena, Docklands.