The enchanting IIFA (International Indian Film Academy) awards were conceptualized by Wizcraft International Entertainment. The IIFA awards are unique among all other film awards in India because the winners are selected by popular votes cast by viewers worldwide. The venue for the 2002 IIFA awards was the exotic Genting Highlands Resort in Malaysia. The host for the special evening was former Miss Universe Lara Dutta. The audiences were stupefied when Sushmita Sen, Isha Koppikar, Remo Fernandes and Bardot took over the stage. The film ‘Lagaan’ (directed by Ashutosh Gowariker) was named the winner in several categories. Given below is the list of winners who walked away with the popular IIFA awards in 2002.

The Winners For 3rd International Indian Film Academy Awards Were:

Best Actor
Aamir Khan
Best Actress
Chandni Bar
Best Film
Aamir Khan
Best Director
Ashutosh Gowarikar
Best Supporting Actor (Male)
Saif Ali Khan
Dil Chahta Hai
Best Supporting Actor (Female)
Jaya Bachchan
Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham
Best Actor in a Comic Role
Jodi No. 1
Best Actor in a Negative Role
Akshay Kumar
Best Music Direction
A. R. Rahman
Best Lyricist
Javed Akhtar
Best Playback Singer (Male)
Sonu Nigam
Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham  - 'Suraj Hua Maddham'
Best Playback Singer (Female)
Asha Bhosle
Lagaan - 'Radha Kaisa Na Jale'
Life Time Achievement Award

IIFA (International Indian Film Academy) Special Awards 2002

Sony Faces of the Year
Arjun Rampal, Bipasha Basu and Gracy Singh
Personality of the Year
Amitabh Bachchan
Outstanding Indian Contribution to International Cinema
Waheeda Rehman
Electrolux Kelvinator Personality of the Year
Amitabh Bachchan
Invaluable Contribution To Indian Cinema
Shammi Kapoor

IIFA (International Indian Film Academy) Technical Awards 2002

Best Art Direction
Sharmista Roy
Best Cinematography
Santosh Sivan
Best Editing
Bhallu Saluja
Best Choreography
Farah Khan
Best Best Story
Ashutosh Gowariker
Best Screen Play
Farhan Akthar
Best Background Score
Babloo Chakvorty
Best Dialogue
Karan Johar
Best Sound Recording
H. Shridhar
Best Song Recording
Vijay Benegal
Best Sound Re-Recording
Anil Mathur and Nakul Kamte
Best Special Visual Effects
Paul Sims
Best Costume Designer
Manish Malhotra
Best Make-up
Mickey Contractor