The Star Screen Awards took shape in the year 1994 and are initiated by the chairman of The Express Group. The Screen Awards are considered as one of the prestigious awards in the Indian cinema industry. They attempt to stay different from other Indian cine awards, as awards are presented to the film fraternity judged by a panel of eminent professionals in the film industry itself. Star Screen Awards 1997 are also known as the 3rd Star Screen Awards or Screen Videocon Awards. The ceremony was held in the heart of the Indian film industry, Mumbai and the awards were presented to the artists who were professionally excellent in the industry. Given below is the list of winners who swept the screen awards for the year.

The Winners For 3rd Screen-Videocon Awards Were:

Star Screen Popular Awards 1997

Best Actor
Aamir Khan
Raja Hindustani
Best Actress
Manisha Koirala
Khamoshi: The Musical
Best Film
Dharmesh Darshan
Raja Hindustani
Best Director
Dharmesh Darshan
Raja Hindustani
Best Supporting Actor (Male)
Amrish Puri
Best Supporting Actor (Female)
Seema Biswas
Best Actor in a Comic Role
Johnny Lever and Sulabha Arya
Raja Hindustani and Masoom
Best Actor in a Negative Role
Ashish Vidyarthi and Rekha
Is Raat Ki Subah Nahi and Khiladiyon Ka Khiladi
Best Music Direction
Raja Hindustani
Best Lyricist
Majrooh Sultanpuri
Khamoshi: The Musical - 'Aaj Mein Upar'
Best Playback Singer (Male)
Udit Narayan
Raja Hindustani - 'Aye ho Mere Zindagi Mein'
Best Playback Singer (Female)
Kavita Krishnamoorthy
Khamoshi: The Musical - 'Aaj Mein Upar'
Most Promising Newcomer (Male)
Chandrachur Singh
Most Promising Newcomer (Female)
Priya Gill
Tere Mere Sapne
Star Screen Special Awards 1997
Life Time Achievement Award
Sunil Dutt