The year 1994 saw the rise of the flashy Star Screen Awards. The winners are announced on the basis of their performance in films. The nomination and selection is done by a panel of esteemed judges from within the film industry itself. The Star Screen Awards 2010 was also known as 16th Nokia Annual Star Screen Awards. The ceremony was held on 9th January 2010 at the Mumbai Metropolitan Region Development Authority (MMRDA) grounds. The heart throb of millions, Shahid Kapoor and King Khan hosted the show for the glitzy evening. ‘3 Idiots’ and ‘Paa’ grabbed many screen awards for the year. Given below is the list of winners who were presented with the prestigious awards in 2010.

The Winners For 16th Nokia Annual Star Screen Awards Were:

Star Screen Popular Awards 2010

Best Film
3 Idiots
Vidhu Vinod Chopra
Best Director
Rajkumar Hirani
3 Idiots
Best Actor
Amitabh Bachchan
Best Actress
Vidya Balan
Best Actor (popular)
Shahid Kapoor
Best Actress (popular)
Kareena Kapoor
3 Idiots & Kurbaan
Best Actor in a Supporting Role
Rishi Kapoor
Love Aaj Kal
Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Arundhati Naag
Best Actor in a Negative Role
Boman Irani
3 Idiots
Best Actor in a Comic Role
Omi Vaidya
3 Idiots
Best Child Actor
Pratik Katare
Best Music
AR Rahman
Delhi 6
Best Playback Singer Male
Rahat Fateh Ali Khan
Love Aaj Kal ‘Aaj Din Chadya’
Best Playback Singer (Female)
Kavita Seth
Wake Up Sid ‘Iktara’
Best Lyrics
Irshad Kamil
Love Aaj Kal ‘Chor Bazari’
Best Story
Imtiaz Ali
Love Aaj Kal
Best Screenplay
Rajkumar Hirani, Vidhu Vinod Chopra & Abhijat Joshi
3 Idiots
Best Dialogue
Rajkumar Hirani and Abhijat Joshi
3 Idiots
Best Editing
Rajkumar Hirani
3 Idiots
Best Special Effects
Charles Darby
Best Cinematography
Rajeev Ravi
Dev D
Best Choreography
Bosco Caesar
3 Idiots ‘Zoobi Doobi’
Best Action
Vijayan Master
Best Debut Male
Omi Vaidya
3 Idiots
Best Debut Female
Mahie Gill
Dev D
Best Debut Director
Nandita Das
Best Entertainer of the year
Katrina Kaif
Best Cast
Luck By Chance
Best Jodi (Star Plus)
Amitabh Bachchan & Abhishek Bachchan
Best Jodi (Decade)
Shahrukh Khan & Kajol

Star Screen Special Awards 2010

Lifetime Achievement Award
Javed Akhtar