The Filmfare Awards are one of the most glamorous and oldest film awards in the Hindi film industry. The awards are presented to the artists to acknowledge and encourage their outstanding talent. The Filmfare Awards were established by filmfare magazine in the year 1954. The first filmfare award ceremony was held on 21st March 1954 at Metro Theatre (Mumbai). Only five awards were given out in the first filmfare award ceremony. Listed below are the proud winners of the first filmfare award ceremony.

The Winners For 1st Filmfare Popular Awards Were:

Best Actor
Dilip Kumar
Best Actress
Meena Kumari
Baiju Bawra
Best Film
Bimal Roy
Do Bigha Zameen
Best Director
Bimal Roy
Do Bigha Zamin
Best Music Direction
Baiju Bawra - 'Too Ganga Ki Mauj'