Talents in Bollywood are honored every year, at the most celebrated ceremony of the film industry - Filmfare Awards. The 54th Filmfare Awards 2009, held on 28th February at the Yash Raj Studios in Mumbai, was one of the most watched events of the year. The year 2009 saw the making of many big hits as well as forgettable flops. While films like “Ghajini” (Aamir Khan) and “Rab Ne Banaa Di Jodi” (Shahrukh Khan), with big names in the star cast, were big hits, even the debut performances in “Rock On!!’ (Farhan Akhtar) and “Jaane Tu Ya Jaane Na” (Imran Khan) were accepted by the audience wholeheartedly. Go through the following lines to explore the list of winners of 54th Filmfare Awards 2009.

Popular Awards

  • Best Actor: Hrithik Roshan (Jodhaa Akbar)
  • Best Actress: Priyanka Chopra (Fashion)
  • Best Film: Jodhaa Akbar (Ashutosh Gowariker Productions)
  • Best Director: Ashutosh Gowariker (Jodhaa Akbar)
  • Best Debut (Male): Farhan Akhtar (Rock On!!) and Imran Khan (Jaane Tu... Ya Jaane Na)
  • Best Debut (Female): Asin Thottumkal (Ghajini)
  • Best Supporting Acto r (Male): Arjun Rampal (Rock On!!)
  • Best Supporting Actor (Female): Kangana Ranaut (Fashion)
  • Best Music Direction: A.R. Rahman (Jaane Tu... Ya Jaane Na)
  • Best Lyricist Javed Akhtar ("Jashn-E-Bahara" - Jodhaa Akbar)
  • Best Playback Singer (Male): Sukhwinder Singh ("Haule Haule" - Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi)
  • Best Female Playback (Female): Shreya Ghoshal ("Teri Ore" - Singh Is Kinng)

Critics' Awards

  • Best Actor Critics Award: Manjot Singh (Oye Lucky! Lucky Oye!)
  • Best Actress Critics Award: Shahana Goswami (Rock On!!)
  • Best Film Critics Award: Nishikanth Kamath (Mumbai Meri Jaan)

Special Awards

  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Bhanu Athaiya & Om Puri
  • Special Performance Award: Prateik Babbar (Jaane Tu… Ya Jaane Na) & Purab Kohli (Rock On!!)
  • Best Scene of the Year: Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi
  • RD Burman Award for New Music Talent: Benny Dayal

Technical Awards

  • Best Special Effects: Weta Workshop and John Cox (Love 2050)
  • Best Background Score: A. R. Rahman (Jodhaa Akbar)
  • Best Editing: Amit Pawar (Mumbai Meri Jaan)
  • Best Action: Peter Hein (Ghajini)
  • Best Art Direction: Vandana Kataria, Angelica Bhowmick (Oye Lucky! Lucky Oye!)
  • Best Sound Recording: Baylon Fonseca, Vinod Subramanyam (Rock On!!)
  • Best Screenplay: Yogesh Vinayak Joshi & Upendra Sidhaye (Mumbai Meri Jaan)
  • Best Cinematography: Jason West (Rock On!!)
  • Best Choreography: Longinus Fernandes (Jaane Tu… Ya Jaane Na)
  • Best Dialogue: Manu Rishi (Oye Lucky! Lucky Oye!)
  • Best Story: Abhishek Kapoor (Rock On!!)
  • Best Costume Design: Manushee Sharma (Oye Lucky! Lucky Oye!)